Airport Commission


  • 3:00 p.m.
  • Second Tuesday of the month
  • Danville Regional Airport
    424 Airport Drive
    Danville, VA 24540


  • Michael Duncan
  • Eugene Jackson
  • Stephen Daniel
  • Jessie L. Barksdale
  • William "Sid" Allgood
  • Philip Hall
  • Robert Jiranek
  • Fred Shanks

The Airport Commission consists of eight members that serve three-year terms, with a majority having business interests and not being licensed pilots, designated as follows:

  • Four from the City of Danville
  • Two shall be licensed pilots
  • One shall be a member of the Danville Development Council
  • At least two shall be at large appointees appointed from either Caswell County, Pittsylvania County, Halifax County, or a combination thereof
  • The City Manager or his designee and the Director of Transportation Services shall be ex-officio members without the right to vote or to serve as officers

For more information on the Airport Commission, contact Marc Adelman, Director, at 434-799-5110. To apply to serve on the Airport Commission, please fill out the online application.

Regular Meeting Agendas

Regular meeting agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All

Regular Meeting Minutes

Regular meeting minutes are also available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes (PDF) | View All


The functions of the Airport Commission include:

  • Establishing and approving policies, including hangar fees, minimum operating standards, and ground lease fees
  • Developing short- and long-range plans for the Airport along with funding sources
  • Reviewing and approving the preparation of the annual Airport Budget
  • Monitoring the Airport Manager’s administration of Airport policies
  • Developing priorities and goals for Airport development
  • Promoting the Airport for economic development, general aviation, and commercial air service uses